The Family

It is our desire to get personally to know our guests and to look after them so that you might have a pleasant stay.

Theresia Zelger (born Pfeifer) born 1929

It was aur Oma (Grandma) together with her husband Anton who started to offer “holiday on the farm” back in the 1970s. Although her husband passed away just a few years later she nevertheless kept working with great commitment and vision on the farm. Still today she is contributing to the work on the Schadnerhof. Daily, for example, she gives a hand in the kitchen and with great passion she collects mushrooms and berries form our forests.

Our dear grandma passed away on June 15th, 2021.

Zelger Christine (Tina), born 1961 - farmer's wife:

It is said as a child I would have had the firm intention “never to marry a farmer because is a lot of work on a farm”. However, life rarely goes as planned and as for now I have been happy here at the Schadnerhof for almost 30 years. My ambition is to offer guests an unforgettable holiday. I am pleased to cook Tyrolean and Mediterranean specialties for you.
I also care with joy and enthusiasm for the flowers and the garden. That in itself is like a holiday to me.
My greatest joy is singing and my passion is a local game of cards called “Watten”.

Zelger Bernhard, born 1956 - farmer:

Actually, as a young man I wanted to study German literature and history, but things turned out differently. After the early death of my father I had to take over the farm.
Today I have the best job in the world!
My workspaces: meadows and fields, forest, assistant in the kitchen, serving guests, caretaker, repair of machines, stable work, office work, landscaper, snow clearing, caring for our pets, doing dishes…
More versatile is just not possible!
Of course, I am also a contact person for our guests.

Alexandra, born 1986 - an animal lover

In Bozen/Bolzano I got my high school diploma form the Linguistic Lyceum and then I studied medicine in Innsbruck.
Currently I am working as a doctor in Germany.
On weekends, I come back home to my horse Lilly and the other pets. Because of my love for animals I became a vegetarian.

Elias, born in 1987- student/globetrotter

After finishing an agrarian high school and attaining a higher education tourism management in South Tirol now I finished a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts in California where I studied international studies, among other things Chinese. In fall 2015 in will start a master’s degree in comparative politics in London.

Isabel, born in 1990 - student/globetrotter

As the youngest of us three children, I have taken some time off after concluding the Scientific Lyceum in Bozen/Bolzano, much to the parents’ concerns. I'm off and away to Australia and Tasmania! “Travel and work” for almost a year. A great experience! I just finished my bachelor’s in urban planning at Vienna University and now I am interning in Berlin and later in Hamburg. I especially love children.